Fireworks Laws in Ohio


Beginning July 1, 2022, Ohioans can legally discharge 1.4G consumer fireworks in Ohio. However, discharge is only permitted on specific days and only at specific times - as set forth in amendments to Ohio Revised Code (R.C.)
§ 3743.45 (which become effective July 1, 2022) and new Ohio Fire Code (OFC) § 1301:7-7-56(Z)(5626) (which becomes effective July 3, 2022) - and only if not banned or further restricted by a local political subdivision.

When can Ohioans discharge fireworks?

Unless further limited by local jurisdictions, Ohioans can discharge 1.4G consumer fireworks only from 4 p.m. until 11 p.m. (unless otherwise specified) on the following dates:

• July 3, 4, and 5, and the Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays immediately preceding and following July 4

• Labor Day weekend (1st Monday in September and the Saturday and Sunday immediately preceding that Monday)

• Diwali

• New Year’s Eve (4 p.m.-11:59 p.m.)

• New Year’s Day (also 12 a.m.-1 a.m.)

• Chinese New Year

• Cinco de Mayo

• Memorial Day weekend (last Monday in May and the Saturday and Sunday immediately preceding that Monday)

• Juneteenth (June 19)

Read ALL of the state rules regarding fireworks in the link below.

State of Ohio Fact Sheet on Fireworks in Ohio